Happenings Politics

IG Redeploys Police Commissioners Nationally

IGP Raises Alarm Over Plot By Politicians To Rig Elections With Fake Policemen

The Police Service Commission has approved the recommendation of the acting Inspector-General of Police, Mohammed Adamu, for the redeployment of 37 Command Commissioners of Police for the 36 states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja in advance of the forthcoming election in the country.

CP Egbetokun Kayode whose earlier posting to Lagos was aborted by the IG, was dispatched to Kwara State. The FCT CP, Bala Ciroma, however, retained his position in Abuja.

The PSC spokesman, Ikechukwu Ani, said in a statement in Abuja on Thursday that the Commissioners are expected to proceed immediately to their new Commands before the polls.

They are Buba Sanusi, Katsina State; Mohammed Wakili, Kano State; Rabiu Ladodo, Jigawa State; Ahmed Iliyasu, Ogun State; Mu’azu Zubairu, Lagos State; Ibrahim Sabo, Niger State; Alkassam Sanusi, Taraba State; Garba Mukaddas, Adamawa State and Omololu Bishi, Benue State.

Others include Bola Longe, Nassarawa State; Isaac Akinmoyede, Plateau State; Odumosu Hakeem, Edo State; Olushola David, Bayelsa State; Adeleke Yinka, Delta State; Austin Agbonlahor, Cross Rivers; Bashir Makama, Akwa Ibom State; Awosola Awotunde, Ebonyi State; Belel Usman, Rivers State; Bello Makwashi, Gombe State and Abdulrahman Ahmed, Kaduna State.

Also redeployed are Hakeem Busari, Kogi State; Asuquo Amba, Ekiti state; Galadanchi Dasuki, Imo; Suleiman Balarabe, Enugu; Dandaura Mustapha, Anambra; Etim Ene Okon, Abia; Ibrahim Kaoje, Sokoto; Celestine Okoye, Zamfara; Garba Danjuma, Kebbi; Abiodun Ige, Osun; Undie Adie, Ondo; Olukolu Shina, Oyo; Ali Janga, Bauchi; Damian Chukwu, Bornu and Sumonu Abdulmalik, Yobe State.

The Chairman of the Commission, Alhaji Musiliu Smith, charged the CPs to quickly settle at their new posts and make sure that the elections at their various Commands are peaceful, free, fair and transparent.